Atlantic Media and Allstate Honor America’s Local Innovators with First “Renewal Awards” in Des Moines, IA, January 26

Event to feature interviews with six honorees and discussions with Des Moines mayor T.M. Franklin Cownie, CAP president Neera Tanden, and Robert Doar of American Enterprise Institute

Washington, D.C. (January 13, 2016)—The federal system may be mired in stalemate, but that doesn’t mean America has lost capacity for self-renewal. For the past year, Atlantic Media and Allstate have been engaged in a national search to identify local organizations driving positive change in their communities and bringing progress to the rest of the country.

The program culminates at Drake University in Des Moines, IA, on Tuesday, January 26 when six organizations—representing varied fields and communities from around the country—will be honored with the first Renewal Awards. Set against the backdrop of the 2016 presidential elections, “The Renewal Awards: Celebrating America’s Local Innovators” will showcase the winning organizations and engage in a discussion with national and local leaders on how opportunities can be created for even greater innovation throughout the country. The winners have made marks in education, economic opportunity, community building, and neighborhood revitalization.

Ronald Brownstein, editorial director of Atlantic Media, will host the Renewal Awards event, a project he’s been shepherding over the last year. Allstate CEO Tom Wilson will join Brownstein for the presentation of the Awards to the six winners. Each winner will re­ceive $10,000 in grant fund­ing from The Allstate Foundation. The awards are an editorial extension of The Next Economy series, which explores the creative ways Americans are using innovation to solve problems at the local level.

The larger event will feature interviews with Neera Tanden, president of the Center for American Progress, Robert Doar, Morgridge Fellow in Poverty Studies at American Enterprise Institute, Des Moines Mayor T.M. Franklin Cownie, and Rob Barron, chair of the Des Moines School Board, among others to be announced. Matt Vasilogambros, staff correspondent for National Journal, will share moderating duties with Brownstein.

Media interested in attending “The Renewal Awards” event should contact The Atlantic’s Sydney Simon ( The event will be webcast live on The Atlantic’s Events Channel where it will be archived for later viewing. Follow the conversation on Twitter via @NextEcon, and by using #RenewalAwards.

Media opportunities will be available onsite and remotely with the winning organizations, Atlantic Media, and Allstate.