The Renewal Awards

The Atlantic and Allstate are issuing a call for nominations for the 2019 Renewal Awards.

Now in its fourth year, this nationwide competition was created to celebrate the social innovation demonstrated by thousands of nonprofits that are finding creative solutions to America’s most pressing problems.

The Renewal Awards recognizes these organizations and individuals as they drive positive change in their communities—and helps them make an even bigger impact.

Five winners, to be announced at a special ceremony in spring 2019, will each receive $20,000 in funding from Allstate; one of the winners will additionally be presented with the Allstate Youth Empowerment Award.

Nominations are now closed for the 2019 Renewal Awards. Finalists will be notified of their status by January 21. Please revisit this page in mid-February to view the full list of finalists, and to cast your vote for the nonprofit you want to see win $20,000 in funding.

For a complete breakdown of the Renewal Awards’ official rules, please refer to the official rules document here. For more information, please email KC Sledd at


  • Nov. 30
    Nominations close
  • Feb. 2019
    Voting period
  • Spring 2019
    Winners announced

Meet Past Winners