Here are the 28 House Democrats Who Voted to Approve the Keystone XL Pipeline

Twenty-eight Democrats voted with 238 Republicans to authorize construction of the controversial Keystone XL oil-sands pipeline during a House vote on Friday.

The legislation, sponsored by Republican Rep. Kevin Cramer of North Dakota, passed the House 266-153. The Senate is expected to begin debate on an identical measure early next week, despite a White House veto threat.

Keystone XL, a pipeline that would ship crude oil from Alberta, Canada, to the Gulf Coast, has driven a wedge into the Democratic caucus. Two major constituencies that traditionally support Democrats are at odds over the project. Environmentalists oppose Keystone XL, saying that its construction will worsen the problem of climate change. Labor unions, on the other hand, back the pipeline, contending that it will spur job creation.

Several Democrats who backed Keystone XL Friday are members of the House Blue Dog coalition, a group of Democratic moderates. Coalition Cochairmen Kurt Schrader of Oregon, Jim Cooper of Tennessee, and Jim Costa of California sent a letter to the White House on Thursday urging swift approval of the project.

A list of all the House Democrats who voted to authorize Keystone XL:

1. Brad Ashford, Neb.

2. Sanford Bishop, Ga.

3. Robert Brady, Pa.

4. Cheri Bustos, Ill.

5. James Clyburn, S.C.

6. Jim Cooper, Tenn.

7. Jim Costa, Calif.

8. Henry Cuellar, Texas

9. Mike Doyle, Pa.

10. Gwen Graham, Fla.

11. Al Green, Texas

12. Gene Green, Texas

13. Shelia Jackson Lee, Texas

14. Daniel Lipinski, Ill.

15. Dave Loebsack, Iowa

16. Sean Patrick Maloney, N.Y.

17. Patrick Murphy, Fla.

18. Rick Nolan, Minn.

19. Donald Norcross, N.J.

20. Collin Peterson, Minn.

21. Cedric Richmond, La.

22. Kurt Schrader, Ore.

23. David Scott, Ga.

24. Terri Sewell, Ala.

25. Albio Sires, N.J.

26. Marc Veasey, Texas

27. Filemon Vela, Texas

28. Tim Walz, Minn.

Jason Plautz, Alex Brown, and Rachel Roubein contributed to this article