Here's How Senators Voted on the Keystone Bill

The pipeline's proponents fell one vote short Tuesday night.

WASHINGTON, DC - OCTOBER 14: (L-R) U.S. Senate Minority Whip Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX), Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY), and Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY) walk from McConnell's office to the Senate Chamber on October 14, 2013 in Washington, DC. As Democratic and Republican leaders negotiate an end to the shutdown and a way to raise the debt limit, the White House postponed a planned Monday afternoon meeting with Boehner and other Congressional leaders. The government shutdown is currently in its 14th day. (Photo by Andrew Burton/Getty Images) (National Journal)

Despite a lame-duck push by Democratic Sen. Mary Landrieu, the Senate defeated a bill to approve the Keystone XL pipeline on Tuesday evening, 59-41. Just 14 Democrats supported the measure—one fewer than Landrieu and other supporters needed to pass the bill.

Incoming Majority Leader Mitch McConnell has promised to again take up the legislation early in the next Congress, when it is expected to earn more than the 60 votes needed and pass easily. McConnell will have at least a 53-seat majority (54 if Landrieu is defeated by Republican Rep. Bill Cassidy in a December runoff) and eight of the Democrats who voted in favor of Keystone on Tuesday will return to the chamber in January.

Here's how members voted on Tuesday.


Lamar Alexander, R-Tenn.

Kelly Ayotte, R-N.H.

John Barrasso, R-Wyo.

Mark Begich, D-Alaska

Michael Bennet, D-Colo.

Roy Blunt, R-Mo.

John Boozman, R-Ark.

Richard Burr, R-N.C.

Thomas Carper, D-Del.

Robert Casey, D-Pa.

Saxby Chambliss, R-Ga.

Dan Coats, R-Ind.

Tom Coburn, R-Okla.

Thad Cochran, R-Miss.

Susan Collins, R-Maine

Bob Corker, R-Tenn.

John Cornyn, R-Texas

Mike Crapo, R-Idaho

Ted Cruz, R-Texas

Joe Donnelly, D-Ind.

Michael Enzi, R-Wyo.

Deb Fischer, R-Neb.

Jeff Flake, R-Ariz.

Lindsey Graham, R-S.C.

Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa

Kay Hagan, D-N.C.

Orrin Hatch, R-Utah

Heidi Heitkamp, D-N.D.

Dean Heller, R-Nev.

John Hoeven, R-N.D.

James Inhofe, R-Okla.

Johnny Isakson, R-Ga.

Mike Johanns, R-Neb.

Ron Johnson, R-Wis.

Mark Kirk, R-Ill.

Mary Landrieu, D-La.

Mike Lee, R-Utah

Joe Manchin, D-W.Va.

John McCain, R-Ariz.

Claire McCaskill, D-Mo.

Mitch McConnell, R-Ky.

Jim Moran, R-Kan.

Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska

Rand Paul, R-Ky.

Rob Portman, R-Ohio

Mark Pryor, D-Ark.

James Risch, R-Idaho

Pat Roberts, R-Kan.

Marco Rubio, R-Fla.

Tim Scott, R-S.C.

Jeff Sessions, R-Ala.

Richard Shelby, R-Ala.

Jon Tester, D-Mont.

John Thune, R-S.D.

Pat Toomey, R-Pa.

David Vitter, R-La.

John Walsh, D-Mont.

Mark Warner, D-Va.

Roger Wicker, R-Miss.


Tammy Baldwin, D-Wis.

Richard Blumenthal, D-Conn.

Cory Booker, D-N.J.

Barbara Boxer, D-Calif.

Sherrod Brown, D-Ohio

Maria Cantwell, D-Wash.

Ben Cardin, D-Md.

Christopher Coons, D-Del.

Dick Durbin, D-Ill.

Dianne Feinstein, D-Calif.

Al Franken, D-Minn.

Kirsten Gillibrand, D-N.Y.

Tom Harkin, D-Iowa

Martin Heinrich, D-N.M.

Mazie Hirono, D-Hawaii

Tim Johnson, D-S.D.

Tim Kaine, D-Va.

Angus King, I-Maine

Amy Klobuchar, D-Minn.

Patrick Leahy, D-Vt.

Carl Levin, D-Mich.

Edward Markey, D-Mass.

Robert Menendez, D-N.J.

Jeff Merkley, D-Ore.

Barbara Mikulski, D-Md.

Chris Murphy, D-Conn.

Patty Murray, D-Wash.

Bill Nelson, D-Fla.

Jack Reed, D-R.I.

Harry Reid, D-Nev.

Jay Rockefeller, D-W.Va.

Bernie Sanders, I-Vt.

Brian Schatz, D-Hawaii

Chuck Schumer, D-N.Y.

Jeanne Shaheen, D-N.H.

Debbie Stabenow, D-Mich.

Mark Udall, D-Colo.

Tom Udall, D-N.M.

Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass.

Sheldon Whitehouse, D-R.I.

Ron Wyden, D-Ore.