Obama Bashes Bloggers; Bloggers Prove His Point

Those same bloggers and journalists whom Obama criticized took to Twitter to punch right back at the president.

National Journal

There was one particular line in President Obama's speech on the morning the government reopened that got some attention among the Washington media:

All of us need to stop focusing on the lobbyists and the bloggers and the talking heads on radio and the professional activists who profit from conflict and focus what the majority of Americans sent us here to do, and that's grow this economy, create good jobs, strengthen the middle class, educate our kids, lay the foundation for broad-based prosperity, and get our fiscal house in order for the long haul. 

"The bloggers."

And in fitting fashion, those same bloggers and political journalists whom the president bashed took to Twitter and proved his point in a way:

Whoah whoah. Obama says we have to stop focusing on the "bloggers". Little close to home there, Prez.

— The Fix (@TheFix) October 17, 2013

Why does Obama hate bloggers?

— Matt Yglesias (@mattyglesias) October 17, 2013

YEAH STOP FOCUSING ON THOSE DIRTY BLOGGERS

— delrayser (@delrayser) October 17, 2013

No, we need to pay MORE attention to the bloggers and also click their banner ads more.

— Philip Bump (@pbump) October 17, 2013

Obama: "we need to stop focusing on [...] the bloggers" The TP office: BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

— Hayes Brown (@HayesBrown) October 17, 2013

Bloggers Against Obama dot tumblr dot com

— Zack Beauchamp (@zackbeauchamp) October 17, 2013

Obama to bloggers: disrespect

— John Gapper (@johngapper) October 17, 2013

Not the bloggers!

— Ethan Klapper (@ethanklapper) October 17, 2013

Bloggers!

— Stefan Becket (@stefanjbecket) October 17, 2013

Calling out the bloggers?!

— igorvolsky (@igorvolsky) October 17, 2013

WAR ON BLOGGERS

— Ben White (@morningmoneyben) October 17, 2013

yeah, well, ignore obama

— max read (@max_read) October 17, 2013

POTUS just spiked the football in Twitter's face

— Jon Favreau (@jonfavs) October 17, 2013

Obama, whose campaign of course touted blogs, now wants to ignore them. :( Flip flop!

— Amanda Terkel (@aterkel) October 17, 2013

Obama to bloggers: drop dead

— David Joachim, NYT (@davidjoachim) October 17, 2013

Calling for bloggers rebellion meeting at Tortilla Coast!

— Jon Ralston (@RalstonReports) October 17, 2013

The enemy: Blogbarians at the gate

— Michael Tackett (@tackettdc) October 17, 2013

I don't think Obama was referring to MSM bloggers. But maybe he was?

— Aaron Blake (@AaronBlakeWP) October 17, 2013

Obama still talking?

— Jeremy Stahl (@JeremyStahl) October 17, 2013

who could have predicted that "bloggers" line would resonate on twitter?

— E McMorris-Santoro (@EvanMcSan) October 17, 2013

They fell into the trap.