The President Will Waive 10 States from 'No Child Left Behind'

This article is from the archive of our partner .

On Thursday, President Barack Obama will waive 10 states from the No Child Left Behind law, the AP reports. Gleaned from an anonymous White House official, the AP reports that the 10 states will be: Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oklahoma and Tennessee--New Mexico applied for the waiver but will not see it granted. "The law requires all students to be proficient in reading and math by 2014," AP explains. Passed during the George W. Bush administration, No Child Left Behind has seen its share of criticisms for the weight it places on standardized test scores, punishments it places on schools, and the possibility of federal underfunding.

This article is from the archive of our partner The Wire.