Inventing the Future of Health

Inventing the Future of Health: Baton Rouge

November 12, 2014
Baton Rouge, LA, Louisiana

Louisiana is consistently ranked as one of the least healthy states in America, with high rates of obesity, cardiovascular disease, diabetes and other chronic illnesses that contribute to some of the highest medical costs in the country.  The state provides a window into the challenges facing healthcare systems across America, where increasing rates of chronic disease are driving escalating costs–but also are stimulating new solutions.

Our town hall event convened doctors, business leaders, researchers, community organizers, patient advocates, health officials and others, to discuss strategies to promote better health,  improve patient outcomes, and rein in costs.  

Slides from the  Sponsor Content Program, brought to you by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana are available here.

Pennington Biomedical Research Center
6400 Perkins Road
Baton Rouge, LA

To see photos from the event, visit our Facebook page.

Presented by

Atlantic Live

Speakers

Agenda

9:15 a.m. CT  Guest Arrival

9:45 a.m. CT/10:45 a.m. ET Welcoming Remarks

  • Emily Akhtarzandi, Managing Director, AtlanticLIVE

9:50 a.m. CT/10:50 a.m. ET  Sponsor Content Program, brought to you by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana

  • David Carmouche, Executive Vice President for External Operations and Chief Medical Officer, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana
  • Mike Reitz, President and Chief Executive Officer, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Louisiana

10:05 a.m. CT/11:05 a.m. ET  One-on-One Interview

  • Janet Wright, Executive Director, Million Hearts
  • Interviewer: Steve Clemons, Washington Editor at Large, The Atlantic

10:45 a.m. CT/11:45 a.m. ET  Mapping Louisiana: A Conversation on Cost & Quality

  • Peter Katzmarzyk, Associate Executive Director, Pennington Biomedical Research Center
  • Warner Thomas, President and CEO, Ochsner Health System
  • Randy Watson, Director of Insurance, Caddo Parish School Board
  • Clayton Williams, Director of Health Systems Development, Louisiana Public Health Institute
  • Moderator: Steve Clemons

11:35 a.m. CT/12:35 p.m. ET  One-on-One Interview

  • Elliott Fisher, Director of Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy & Clinical Practice
  • Interviewer: Steve Clemons

12:00 p.m. CT/1:00 p.m. ET  Program Concludes

Underwriters

Presenting Level

Also in This Series

Upcoming Events

  • Economy/Business

    The Renewal Summit: Houston

    How can Houston's community leaders bring opportunity to all residents of the region?

  • Politics

    What Do the Midterms Mean?
    With The Atlantic's Politics Team

    The midterm elections could define one of the most pivotal periods in America’s recent history. One week after the country votes, The Atlantic’s top political reporters and editor-in-chief Jeffrey Goldberg take stock of the results and analyze what they mean for the president, policy, and politics leading up to the 2020 presidential campaign.


    Tickets: $15 advance/$18 day of

  • Health Care

    People v. Cancer

    What will it take for humankind to conquer cancer?