An American Town Hall

An American Town Hall: Detroit

October 7, 2014
Detroit, MI, Michigan

What do your elected officials and state leaders believe is in our country's energy future--and what's in store for Michigan? What decisions will they make, and which direction will they take, if elected, to ensure that the United States remains at the forefront of global energy innovation and domination? How will they create policies that recognize the energy industry's importance in determining the health of Michigan's manufacturing economy--and its environment?  The Atlantic posed these questions and more to  state leaders ahead of the 2014 midterm elections in November.
Michigan Science Center
Science Stage
5020 John R Street
Detroit, MI

Presented by

Atlantic Live

Speakers

Agenda

8:00 a.m. CT/9:00 a.m. ET  Networking Breakfast and Registration

8:35 a.m. CT/9:35 a.m. ET Welcome Remarks

  • Emily Akhtarzandi, Managing Director, AtlanticLIVE

8:40 a.m. CT/9:40 a.m. ET  Introductory Remarks

  • Louis Finkel, Executive Vice President for Government Relations, American Petroleum Institute

8:45 a.m. CT/9:45 a.m. ET  Panel Discussion: Energizing the Heartland

  • Mark Barteau, Director, University of Michigan Energy Institute
  • Chris Kolb, President and Chief Executive Officer, Michigan Environmental Council
  • Mike Johnston, Vice President, Government Affairs, Michigan Manufacturers Association
  • Moderated by: Tracy Samilton, Auto Reporter and Producer, Michigan Public Radio

9:30 a.m. CT/10:30 a.m. ET  Headline Interview

  • The Honorable Peter Hoekstra, Senior Director, Greenberg Traurig LLP; former Member, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Interviewed by: Molly Ball, Staff Writer, The Atlantic

10:00 a.m. CT/11:00 a.m. ET  Headline Interview

  • The Honorable John Dingell, Member, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Interviewed by: Molly Ball, Staff Writer, The Atlantic

10:30 a.m. CT/11:30 a.m. ET Closing Remarks

  • Emily Akhtarzandi, Managing Director, AtlanticLIVE

Underwriter

Presenting Level

Also in This Series

  • An American Town Hall: Philadelphia

    The Atlantic traveled to Philadelphia to examine the political, economic, scientific, and social imperatives for crafting future energy policy.

  • An American Town Hall: New Orleans

    In advance of the 2014 midterm elections, The Atlantic travelled around the country to examine the political, economic, scientific, and social imperatives for crafting future energy policy.

Upcoming Events