by Patrick Appel

Argentina became the first Latin American nation to legalize same-sex marriage at about 4 am this morning. The list:

2001 Netherlands
2003 Belgium
2005 Spain
2005 Canada
2006 South Africa
2008 Norway
2009 Sweden
2010 Portugal
2010 Iceland
2010 Argentina

(Image: A girl spray paints figures of male and female couples in front of the Congress building during a demonstration supporting the gay marriage bill, while Senators discuss said bill on July 14, 2010. By Juan Mabromata/AFP/Getty Images)