This article is from the archive of our partner .

Skrillex, wily dubstep minx that he is, released Recess last night, surprising everyone who downloaded his "Alien Ride" smartphone app last week.

Songs were made available on the app (which was released March 7) every 30 minutes starting at 6:30 p.m. last night, starting with the first track off of Recess, "All Is Fair In Love And Brostep ft. The Ragga Twins."


As Rolling Stone reports, the album is officially only available in two places right now: the app, and streaming on iTunes. While the timing of Skrillex's release may have been a surprise, its iTunes exclusivity isn't fooling anyone. After Beyoncé's iTunes-only album did gangbusters for Apple, it was only a matter of when and how many musicians would follow suit, not if. 

Skrillex told Rolling Stone that his surprise album drop (get it, like he drops the bass?) was "about the fans," noting that he'd probably lose money on the album's app-release, but wanted to do something entertaining. "Dance music is for fun ... Stop taking yourself so seriously," he said.

Here's the track listing for Recess, and listen to our current favorite "Coast Is Clear ft. Chance the Rapper." It's a groove. 

1. "All Is Fair In Love And Brostep" with Ragga Twins
2. "Recess" with Kill The Noise, Fatman Scoop & Michael Angelakos
3. "Stranger" with KillaGraham from Milo and Otis and Sam Dew
4. "Try It Out (Neon Mix)" with Alvin Risk
5. "Coast Is Clear" with Chance The Rapper & The Social Experiment
6.  "Dirty Vibe" with Diplo, G-Dragon from Big Bang & CL from 2NE1
7.  "Ragga Bomb" with Ragga Twins
8.  "Doompy Poomp"
9.   "Fuck That"
10.  "Ease My Mind" with Niki & The Dove
11.  "Fire Away" with Kid Harpoon


This article is from the archive of our partner The Wire.

We want to hear what you think about this article. Submit a letter to the editor or write to