Found Object March 2006

No Ordinary Love

While Web sites like eHarmony.com and Chemistry.com attempt to help people of all sorts find potential mates, a number of other online matchmaking services target smaller populations. Herewith a sampling of some of the more specific niche offerings, as they describe themselves:

Conservative Match (www.conservativematch.com) —“Sweethearts not bleeding hearts”

Liberal Hearts (www.liberalhearts.com) —“Uniting Democrats, Greens, animal lovers & environmentalists who are like in mind and liberal in love”

Good Genes (www.goodgenes.com)—“[Helping] Ivy Leaguers and similarly well-educated graduates and faculty find others with matching credentials”

MillionaireMatch (www.millionairematch.com) —“Where you can add a touch of romance to success and achievement!”

The Atlasphere (www.theatlasphere.com) —“A place where admirers of Ayn Rand’s novels can meet, 365 days a year, to network, find shared interests, and perhaps … even fall in love”

May-December (www.maydecember.net) —“Years apart, coming together”

Golfmates (www.golfmates.com) —“The world’s premier online dating service designed specifically for the golfing community”

Riders2Love (www.riders2love.com) —“Bringing Bikers Together … For a Ride or For a Lifetime”

EquestrianCupid (www.equestriancupid.com) —“The best dating site in the world for friends and singles who are horse lovers”

CowboyCowgirl (www.cowboycowgirl.com) —“Join thousands of singles that share your love for the country way of life”

GothicMatch (www.gothicmatch.com) —“Where gothic friends and singles feel at home!”

Single FireFighters (www.singlefirefighters.com) — “The ONLY place to meet firefighters without calling 911!”

Positive Love (www.positivelove.com) —“Don’t let STDs control your Love Life”

Singles with Scruples (www.singleswithscruples.com) —“[Emphasizing] integrity and good character”

Private Affairs (www.philanderers.com) —“Discreet Extramarital Personal Ads exclusively for discriminating men and women seeking an Extramarital Affair”

Asexual Pals (www.asexualpals.com) —“Because there is so much more to life!”

Presented by

How to Build a Tornado

A Canadian inventor believes his tornado machine could solve the world's energy crisis. The only problem? He has to prove it works.

Join the Discussion

After you comment, click Post. If you’re not already logged in you will be asked to log in or register with Disqus.

Please note that The Atlantic's account system is separate from our commenting system. To log in or register with The Atlantic, use the Sign In button at the top of every page.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Video

How to Build a Tornado

A Canadian inventor believes his tornado machine could solve the world's energy crisis.

Video

A New York City Minute, Frozen in Time

This short film takes you on a whirling tour of the Big Apple

Video

What Happened to the Milky Way?

Light pollution has taken away our ability to see the stars. Can we save the night sky?

Video

The Faces of #BlackLivesMatter

Scenes from a recent protest in New York City

Video

Ruth Bader Ginsburg on Life

The Supreme Court justice talks gender equality and marriage.

Video

The Pentagon's $1.5 Trillion Mistake

The F-35 fighter jet was supposed to do everything. Instead, it can barely do anything.

More in Technology

More back issues, Sept 1995 to present.

Just In