Found Object March 2006

No Ordinary Love

More

While Web sites like eHarmony.com and Chemistry.com attempt to help people of all sorts find potential mates, a number of other online matchmaking services target smaller populations. Herewith a sampling of some of the more specific niche offerings, as they describe themselves:

Conservative Match (www.conservativematch.com) —“Sweethearts not bleeding hearts”

Liberal Hearts (www.liberalhearts.com) —“Uniting Democrats, Greens, animal lovers & environmentalists who are like in mind and liberal in love”

Good Genes (www.goodgenes.com)—“[Helping] Ivy Leaguers and similarly well-educated graduates and faculty find others with matching credentials”

MillionaireMatch (www.millionairematch.com) —“Where you can add a touch of romance to success and achievement!”

The Atlasphere (www.theatlasphere.com) —“A place where admirers of Ayn Rand’s novels can meet, 365 days a year, to network, find shared interests, and perhaps … even fall in love”

May-December (www.maydecember.net) —“Years apart, coming together”

Golfmates (www.golfmates.com) —“The world’s premier online dating service designed specifically for the golfing community”

Riders2Love (www.riders2love.com) —“Bringing Bikers Together … For a Ride or For a Lifetime”

EquestrianCupid (www.equestriancupid.com) —“The best dating site in the world for friends and singles who are horse lovers”

CowboyCowgirl (www.cowboycowgirl.com) —“Join thousands of singles that share your love for the country way of life”

GothicMatch (www.gothicmatch.com) —“Where gothic friends and singles feel at home!”

Single FireFighters (www.singlefirefighters.com) — “The ONLY place to meet firefighters without calling 911!”

Positive Love (www.positivelove.com) —“Don’t let STDs control your Love Life”

Singles with Scruples (www.singleswithscruples.com) —“[Emphasizing] integrity and good character”

Private Affairs (www.philanderers.com) —“Discreet Extramarital Personal Ads exclusively for discriminating men and women seeking an Extramarital Affair”

Asexual Pals (www.asexualpals.com) —“Because there is so much more to life!”

Jump to comments
Presented by
Get Today's Top Stories in Your Inbox (preview)

A Breathtaking Tour Above the Moab Desert

Filmmaker Ian Cresswell rigs an HD camera atop a remote-controlled "octocopter" for some spectacular aerial views.


Elsewhere on the web

Join the Discussion

After you comment, click Post. If you’re not already logged in you will be asked to log in or register. blog comments powered by Disqus

Video

Where Time Comes From

The clocks that coordinate your cellphone, GPS, and more

Video

Computer Vision Syndrome and You

Save your eyes. Take breaks.

Video

What Happens in 60 Seconds

Quantifying human activity around the world

Writers

Up
Down

More in Technology

More back issues, Sept 1995 to present.

Just In