Found Object March 2006

No Ordinary Love

While Web sites like eHarmony.com and Chemistry.com attempt to help people of all sorts find potential mates, a number of other online matchmaking services target smaller populations. Herewith a sampling of some of the more specific niche offerings, as they describe themselves:

Conservative Match (www.conservativematch.com) —“Sweethearts not bleeding hearts”

Liberal Hearts (www.liberalhearts.com) —“Uniting Democrats, Greens, animal lovers & environmentalists who are like in mind and liberal in love”

Good Genes (www.goodgenes.com)—“[Helping] Ivy Leaguers and similarly well-educated graduates and faculty find others with matching credentials”

MillionaireMatch (www.millionairematch.com) —“Where you can add a touch of romance to success and achievement!”

The Atlasphere (www.theatlasphere.com) —“A place where admirers of Ayn Rand’s novels can meet, 365 days a year, to network, find shared interests, and perhaps … even fall in love”

May-December (www.maydecember.net) —“Years apart, coming together”

Golfmates (www.golfmates.com) —“The world’s premier online dating service designed specifically for the golfing community”

Riders2Love (www.riders2love.com) —“Bringing Bikers Together … For a Ride or For a Lifetime”

EquestrianCupid (www.equestriancupid.com) —“The best dating site in the world for friends and singles who are horse lovers”

CowboyCowgirl (www.cowboycowgirl.com) —“Join thousands of singles that share your love for the country way of life”

GothicMatch (www.gothicmatch.com) —“Where gothic friends and singles feel at home!”

Single FireFighters (www.singlefirefighters.com) — “The ONLY place to meet firefighters without calling 911!”

Positive Love (www.positivelove.com) —“Don’t let STDs control your Love Life”

Singles with Scruples (www.singleswithscruples.com) —“[Emphasizing] integrity and good character”

Private Affairs (www.philanderers.com) —“Discreet Extramarital Personal Ads exclusively for discriminating men and women seeking an Extramarital Affair”

Asexual Pals (www.asexualpals.com) —“Because there is so much more to life!”

Presented by

Saving the Bees

Honeybees contribute more than $15 billion to the U.S. economy. A short documentary considers how desperate beekeepers are trying to keep their hives alive.

Join the Discussion

After you comment, click Post. If you’re not already logged in you will be asked to log in or register.

blog comments powered by Disqus

Video

How to Cook Spaghetti Squash (and Why)

Cooking for yourself is one of the surest ways to eat well.

Video

Before Tinder, a Tree

Looking for your soulmate? Write a letter to the "Bridegroom's Oak" in Germany.

Video

The Health Benefits of Going Outside

People spend too much time indoors. One solution: ecotherapy.

Video

Where High Tech Meets the 1950s

Why did Green Bank, West Virginia, ban wireless signals? For science.

Video

Yes, Quidditch Is Real

How J.K. Rowling's magical sport spread from Hogwarts to college campuses

Video

Would You Live in a Treehouse?

A treehouse can be an ideal office space, vacation rental, and way of reconnecting with your youth.

More in Technology

More back issues, Sept 1995 to present.

Just In