December 9, 2014
San Francisco, CA

Technology has become a constant part of our individual lives, our work, and our society as a whole. Throughout this daylong conference we explored the ways technology is transforming how we interact with the world around us. Through interviews, panel discussions, and breakout sessions, we asked some of the most thoughtful and innovative minds in tech to examine the role technology is playing across topics such as big data, robotics, cybersecurity, education, energy, and health.

The event also featured both established and emerging business leaders in our Start-up Square—an opportunity for the audience to engage with some of the latest and greatest ideas that could influence how we live our lives in the future.

Mission Bay Conference Center at UCSF
1675 Owens Street
San Francisco, CA

Presented by

Atlantic Live



Please note: All programming is subject to change.

9:30 a.m. PT/12:30 p.m. ET  Opening Thoughts

  • Margaret Low Smith, President, AtlanticLIVE; Vice President, The Atlantic

9:35 a.m. PT/12:35 p.m. ET Reflections

  • Nihar Patel, Vice President of North American Business Strategy, Toyota Motor Sales

9:40 a.m. PT/12:40 p.m. ET  We’re All Connected

  • Padmasree Warrior, Chief Technology & Strategy Officer, Cisco
  • Interviewer: Steve Clemons, Washington Editor at Large, The Atlantic
10:00 a.m. PT/1:00 p.m. ET  Creative Confidence
  • David Kelley, Founder, IDEO and Founder, Stanford
  • Interviewer: James Fallows, National Correspondent, The Atlantic

10:20 a.m. PT/1:20 p.m. ET  Innovation: A Team Sport

  • Aditya Agarwal, Vice President of Engineering, Dropbox

10:40 a.m. PT/1:40 p.m. ET  Design at the Scale of Billions

  • Margaret Gould Stewart, Director of Product Design, Facebook
  • Interviewer: Thomas Goetz, Chief Executive Officer, Iodine

11:00 a.m. PT/2:00 p.m. ET  Powering Up: Networking Break

  • Book Signing by David Kelley

11:30 a.m. PT/2:30 p.m. ET  The People Behind the Doodle

  • Jonathan Rosenberg, Senior Advisor to Larry Page, Google
  • Interviewer: Ron Brownstein, Editorial Director, Atlantic Media

12:00 p.m. PT/3:00 p.m. ET  The Drone Can See You Now

  • Chris Anderson, Founder, 3D Robotics

12:20 p.m. PT/3:20 p.m. ET  Refueling: Lunch

  • Start-up Square
  • Book Signing by Jonathan Rosenberg

1:10 p.m. PT/4:10 p.m. ET  Rebooting: Welcome Back

  • Margaret Low Smith

1:15 p.m. PT/4:15 p.m. ET  Reflections

  • Jacob Saperstein, Director of Strategic Innovation Alliances, AT&T Public Affairs

1:20 p.m. PT/4:20 p.m. ET  A Classroom Without Walls

  • Sal Khan, Founder, Khan Academy
  • Interviewer: James Bennet

1:50 p.m. PT/4:50 p.m. ET  Bringing Dangerous Ideas to the Masses

  • Anne Wojcicki, Co-Founder, 23andMe
  • Interviewer: Thomas Goetz

2:10 p.m. PT/5:10 p.m. ET  Thinking Outside the Cube

  • Aaron Levie, Co-Founder and CEO, Box
  • Interviewer: Steve Clemons

2:30 p.m. PT/5:30 p.m. ET  Pinning Down the Web

  • Evan Sharp, Co-Founder, Pinterest
  • Interviewer: James Fallows

2:50 p.m. PT/5:50 p.m. ET  Designing Men

  • Joe Gebbia, Co-Founder, Airbnb
  • John Maeda, Design Partner, Kleiner, Perkins, Caufield and Byers
  • Moderator: Steve Clemons

3:20 p.m. PT/6:20 p.m. ET  Recharging: Networking Break

  • Book Signing by Christian Rudder

3:50 p.m. PT/6:50 p.m. ET  And This Toy Is Just Right

  • Debbie Sterling, Founder, GoldieBlox
  • Interviewer: Mary Louise Kelly, Contributing Editor, AtlanticLIVE
4:10 p.m. PT/7:10 p.m. ET  Who We Are (When We Think No One’s Looking)
  • Christian Rudder, Co-Founder and President, OkCupid
  • Interviewer: James Bennet

4:30 p.m. PT/7:30 p.m. ET  Where Next?

  • Gwynne Shotwell, President, SpaceX
  • Interviewer: Mary Louise Kelly, Contributing Editor, AtlanticLIVE

4:50 p.m. PT/7:50 p.m. ET  Closing Thoughts

  • Margaret Low Smith

4:52 p.m. PT/7:52 p.m. ET  Parting Shots

  • James Manyika, Director, McKinsey Global Institute

5:00 p.m. PT/8:00 p.m. ET  Program Conclusion


Presenting Level

Contributing Level

Upcoming Events

  • Economy/Business

    Atlantic Exchange featuring Lord Adair Turner

    Our series of interviews with disruptive innovators and consequential political, community and business leaders continued with a discussion featuring Lord Adair Turner.

  • The Atlantic Housing for Tomorrow Forum

    The Atlantic will convene a public forum to discuss whether a new kind of housing bubble is starting to simmer and what options are emerging to address this growing urgency for many Americans.

  • Technology


    The Atlantic and the USC Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism will host an event exploring the merging of Hollywood and Silicon Valley and how the new dynamics are redefining the entertainment industry.