CityLab 2014

September 28 – 30, 2014
Los Angeles, CA

Complete Monday and Tuesday sessions

Hosted by The Atlantic in partnership with The Aspen Institute and Bloomberg Philanthropies, CityLab is one of our most innovative programs of the year, bringing together 300+ of the world’s top mayors, urban experts, city planners, writers, technologists, economists, and designers. The goal of the 3-day program is to foster constructive dialogue and create scalable solutions for city leaders to share with their constituencies across the world.  

Just recently, the program was named Best Conference of 2013 at the FAME Awards. The inaugural program took place last fall in New York City, and this year, we brought the program to Los Angeles.

To see photos from the event, visit our Facebook page.

Presented by

Atlantic Live

Speakers

Agenda

Live Stream Agenda

MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 29

8:45 a.m. PT / 11:45 a.m. ET  Welcome and Introductory Remarks

  • James Bennet, Editor-in-Chief and Co-President, The Atlantic
  • Michael Bloomberg, Founder, Bloomberg LP and Bloomberg Philanthropies

9:00 a.m. PT / 12:00 p.m. ET  What's Mine is Yours? The New Dynamics of the Sharing City

  • Brian Chesky, CEO and Founder, Airbnb
  • April Rinne, Global Sharing Economy and Shareable Cities Advisor
  • Arun Sundararajan, Professor of Information, Operations and Management Sciences, New York University
  • David Sheard, Council Leader, Kirklees Council
  • Moderator: James Bennet, Editor-in-Chief and Co-President, The Atlantic

9:40 a.m. PT / 12:40 p.m. ET  Reinventing City Hall

  • Eric Garcetti, Mayor, Los Angeles
  • Interviewer: Walter Isaacson, President, The Aspen Institute

10:00 a.m. PT / 1:00 p.m. ET  Case Study: Rethinking Resilience in a Post-Sandy World

  • Henk Ovink, Senior Advisor to Secretary Shaun Donovan, U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
  • Interviewer: Sommer Mathis, Editor, CityLab, The Atlantic

10:20 a.m. PT / 1:20 p.m. ET  Wheels of Change: What's Driving the Future of Urban Mobility?

  • Janette Sadik-Khan, Principal, Bloomberg Associates
  • Donald Shoup, Chair of the Department of Urban Planning and Director of the Institute of Transportation Studies, UCLA
  • John Zimmer, Co-Founder and President, Lyft
  • Moderator: Steve Clemons, Washington Editor at Large, The Atlantic

11:00 a.m. PT / 2:00 p.m. ET  Narrowing the Gap: How Cities Can Fight Income Inequality

  • Alan Berube, Senior Fellow and Deputy Director, Metropolitan Policy Program, Brookings Institution
  • Bill Peduto, Mayor, Pittsburgh
  • Blair Taylor, Chief Community Officer, Starbucks
  • Moderator: Richard Florida, Co-Founder and Editor at Large, CityLab.com; Senior Editor, The Atlantic

11:35 a.m. PT / 2:35 p.m. ET Governing the World's Most Complicated City

  • Nir Barkat, Mayor, Jerusalem
  • Interviewer: Jeffrey Goldberg, National Correspondent, The Atlantic

11:55 a.m. PT / 2:55 p.m. ET  Local Food: Beyond Farm-to-Table

  • Dan Barber, Owner and Executive Chef, Blue Hill Farm

12:20 p.m. PT / 3:20 p.m. ET  Wrap Up

  • Margaret Low Smith, Vice President, The Atlantic and President, AtlanticLIVE

TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 30

12:00 p.m. PT / 3:00 p.m. ET Welcome/Introduction

  • James Anderson, Government Innovation, Bloomberg Philanthropies

12:10 p.m. PT / 3:10 p.m. ET  Infrastructure Investments that Change Lives

  • Hon. Anthony Foxx, U.S. Secretary of Transportation
  • Arun Rath, Weekend Host, All Things Considered, NPR

12:30 p.m. PT / 3:30 p.m. ET  Trend Breaks: What a World of Change Means for Mayors

  • Richard Dobbs, Director, McKinsey Global Institute

12:45 p.m. PT / 3:45 p.m. ET  New in Town: Mayors on Immigration

  • Denis Coderre, Mayor, Montreal, Canada
  • Kasim Reed, Mayor, Atlanta, Georgia
  • Interviewer: Ron Brownstein, Editorial Director, Atlantic Media

1:10 p.m. PT / 3:10 p.m. ET  LA Story: Strategies for Stopping a Runaway Industry

  • Kathy Garmezy, Associate Executive Director, Government & International Affairs, Directors Guild of America
  • Amy Lemisch, Executive Director, California Film Commission
  • Katherine Oliver, Principal, Bloomberg Associates
  • Jay Roewe, Vice President of Production, HBO​
  • Moderator: James Bennet, Editor in Chief and Co-President, The Atlantic

1:30 p.m. PT / 4:30 p.m. ET Event Concludes

Hosted in Partnership With

Underwriters

Presenting Level

Knowledge Level

Supporting Level

Contributing Level

Also in This Series

  • Politics

    CityLab

    CityLab once again brought together top urban theorists, municipal leaders and other key voices that contribute to the vibrance of cities around the world to discuss metropolitan ideas and innovation.

  • Other

    CityLab: Urban Solutions to Global Challenges

    CityLab 2013 brought together global city leaders to engage in a series of conversations about urban ideas and innovations that are shaping metro centers around the world.

Upcoming Events

  • Economy/Business

    Confronting the Skills Gap: The Texas Experience

    The Atlantic will bring together educators, employers and policy makers in Texas – one of the most diverse and economically prosperous states in the nation – for a discussion about workforce development efforts in the Lone Star State.

  • Education

    Early Childhood Education: The San Antonio Experience

    The Atlantic will host Early Childhood Education: The San Antonio Experience, a Next America forum bringing together local and national leaders for a wide-ranging discussion about expanded access to full day pre-kindergarten in San Antonio and its national implications.

  • Technology

    City Makers Summit

    The Atlantic will explore how technological growth contributes to – or curtails – workforce development in dense urban areas. The day’s conversations will cover topics like job training and education, inequality and the rise of Dallas entrepreneurship and corporate innovation.