The other night,
at my regular game, we were playing seven-card high-low. I had a very good
hand -- ace, two, three, four, five, seven, plus a stray jack. I decided to
declare both high and low (when the hands are complete, each remaining player
declares whether he's going to play his high cards or his low cards -- the
perfect low being an ace, 2,3,4 and six.) I had a great low, plus a straight,
so I declared both high and low. There were two others still in the game; one
declared high, the other low. So I was competing against both. The prize was
the entire pot (which by then was in the tens of dollars), but if either the
low or the high beat my hand, I would lose everything. I would win the entire
pot, of course, and not split it, if I won.
When we showed our cards,
my low beat the other player's low, but my high hand -- a straight -- matched
exactly the hand of the player who went high. We had never seen this before,
and we were flummoxed. We turned to the Intertubes, but couldn't find an
answer there. Eventually, the table decided that in order for me to have won
the hand, I would have had to beat, and not merely, tie, both remaining
players. The question out there is: What is the actual rule? Is
there such a thing as a tie? Please send me your responses to email@example.com.
Please, no e-mails telling us to stick to Texas Hold 'em.